Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mr Sam - Opus Quinto

Mr Sam - Opus Quinto

Regular price €10,73
Regular price Sale price €10,73
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Regular as clockwork, from 2007 to ‘10, Mr Sam’s ‘Opus’ compilations swiftly became part of electronic music’s fabric. When it came to musical trend, they established his reputation as that of setter rather than follower, tracking perhaps five or more years ahead of their time.

In the second decade of the new millennium, Mr Sam’s largely set DJing to one side, focusing instead on other passions, music production and graphic design amongst them. The four releases (or ‘Opus’, ‘Secundo’, ‘Tertio’ and ‘Quarto’ as they were known) seemed destined to remain a rampart for those prepared to look beyond the musical horizon of the time.
That is all until… well, you guessed it... Ten plus years after ‘Quarto’, Mr. Sam returns this June with his fifth ‘Opus’ (Quinto, naturally). Along with it comes another two hundred and forty minutes of mind-expanding music, sounds and experiences that again promise to resonate deeper and live longer.

So eclectic is its selection, that Sam’s series arguably owes no musical debt at all. If indeed it does though, likely it’s solely to Sasha & Digweed’s ‘Northern Exposure’ series. Mixing music whose focus is on atmosphere-generating sounds & effects is very much the opening forte of ‘Opus 5’. Tracks like Alan Dixon’s ‘Rudy’s Spector’, ‘Ghost In Me ‘ from Darla Jade & Nico de Andrea and Wolf Story’s ‘Life Before’ all have their emphasis on mood, rather than movement. Indeed, it’s almost fifteen minutes before Disc 01 develops anything more than a percussive pulse. When it does, the mix begins to reach down progressively lit avenues. Included in that are the voodoo-feels of Migosy’s ‘Mbamba’, Totoray’s technotic ‘Everlasting’ and the acidicaly-tipped ‘Clavel’ from Issac.


Disc 01

  1. Alan Dixon - Rudy’s Spector 
  2. Darla Jade & Nico de Andrea - Ghost In Me (Lemon & Herb Remix) 
  3. Nihil Young, Talal & Amy Wawn - Don't Give Up (Extended Mix) 
  4. Wolf Story featuring Essa - Life Before You 
  5. Migosy - Mbamba 
  6. Totoray - Everlasting Movement  
  7. Issac - Clavel 
  8. B.I.G. - A Promise 
  9. Marsh - 1992 
  10. 2088 - Connection 
  11. Framewerk - Metropolis 
  12. Swoose - Lotus 13.
  13. Sasha vs. Franky Wah - Haunted 
  14. Borneo - Trying 
  15. Baril - One More Rush 
  16. LEV - Beacons Were Lit 

Disc 02

  1. Peer Kusiv featuring Johanson - Bring You Back 
  2. Romulus - The Hut  
  3. Rosewall & Shyam P - Destiny (Reiym Remix) 
  4. Luttrell - Twin Souls 
  5. ONYVA - Flow Wave 
  6. Balad & Allies For Everyone featuring Eleonora - What Remains 
  7. The Dualz - Inside Me 
  8. Howling - Need You Now (Adriatique Remix) 
  9. Mr Sam featuring Kirsty Hawkshaw - Split (Arpow Remix) 
  10. Arpow - Flow 
  11. Morttagua & Melody Stranger - Remnants 
  12. Aalson - Stormia 
  13. Kiz Pattison & Micah Paul Lukasewich - Beam Of Light  
  14. B.B.E. - Seven Days and One Week (Mr Sam’s Casino Royale Remix) 
  15. Peer Kusiv featuring AVEC - On My Mind (ANII Remix)
View full details