1. See Detail

Solarstone & Activa - Pure Trance 8

BH CD 195
Quick Overview

Solarstone & Activa


Eight years on and while that peril’s not passed, it advance has been blunted, with many of its chancers moving on in search of something else to commercialise. As such the movement - forged and spearheaded by Solarstone, and having long since matured to include global club events, a much-loved weekly radio show and a triple-record label arsenal has, almost imperceptibly, transitioned. Vindicated – a battle largely won, it’s become less ‘mission’ and even more focussed on the music itself. 

Fresh from the release of his ‘3’ and ‘One’ albums, our Pure Trance sentinel Solarstone delivers his eighth annual, bringing another fitting close to this P.T. year. Joining him for 2019’s edition is a DJ & producer whose re-emergence is – essentially - a living, breathing result of the movement itself. After almost a decade away, Activa’s reactivation is as sure a sign as any of the scene’s brighter days renaissance. He commits an astonishing second disc of energized trance elevations to complement Solarstone’s assured-as-ever selection of the purest. 

Solarstone’s mix initially lies in the hypnotically languid, super-tranquil waters of ‘Beautiful Surface’ by Super-Frog Saves Tokyo. Taking its time to make those cool overtures, it features Solarstone’s own Retouches of Allende’s newie ‘Essence’, ‘This Side of Paradise’ from Romania’s Claudiu Adam and Oliver Imseng’s entrancing ‘New Dawns’. 

While not missing the chance for a scene-setting sign-in (courtesy of Tony Anderson tellingly-titled ‘Immersion’), Activa’s commences Pure Trance operations further up the tempo & tone dial. He strikes quickly with Solar Movement’s exceptional 4/4 drive of Way Out West’s classic ‘Mindcircus’, as well as S.M.’s own ‘Pure Soul’ and Activa’s killer ‘Midnight’. ‘Journey To The Deep’ from Robert Nickson turns the thermostat up again, while Activa precision places New Ordinance’s ‘Beyond Gravity’ (Factor B’s rework), ‘Novo’ from Dan Stone and others, to ensure that mercury keeps rising. Rob stacks the mix’s third act with much of his own studio fare. Among them is ‘Spirit’ - the new single alongside Solarstone, as well as a retouch of Jaron Inc’s update of G&M Project’s ‘Sunday Afternoon’ and ‘When The Mask Falls’ - his on-approach teaming with Julie Thompson.


Disc 1 - Mixed by Solarstone

01. Super-Frog Saves Tokyo - Beautiful Surfaces (Solarstone Ambient Intro Version) 

02. Stoby & Coulter featuring Liz Cirelli - Sun is High (Solarstone Dubby Retouch) 

03. New Ordinance & Gozzi - Aho (Vocal Version - Solarstone Retouch) 

04. Allende - Essence (Solarstone Retouch) 

05. Claudiu Adam - This Side of Paradise (Solarstone Retouch) 

06. Oliver Imseng - New Dawns (Solarstone Retouch) 

07. Solarstone - Take Me On Your Flight PT II

08. Orkidea vs. Dinny Ward - Forward Forever Out of the Screws (Solarstone Edit) 

09. Men-D - Sarmale (Pure Trance 8 Version) 

10. gardenstate - Bloom (Solarstone Retouch)

11. Obie Fernandez - Todo Para Mi (Pure Trance 8 Version)

12. Sam Mitcham - Amarula (Pure Trance 8 Version) 

13. Solarstone - Rain Stars Eternal (Robert Nickson’s RNX Remix) 

14. Ehren Stowers vs. Elizabeth Fields - Mandela Effect Speak in Sympathy (Solarstone Edit)

15. The Blizzard - Blue Hour (Solarstone Retouch) 

16. Solarstone & Future Disciple - Monkey Mia (Stripped Mix)  

Disc 2 - Mixed by Activa

01. Tony Anderson - Immersion (Intro Version) 

02. Activa - Midnight

03. Way Out West - Mindcircus (Solar Movement Remix) 

04. Stephens & Green - Lexicon 

05. Sector7 - Cherry Blossom (Stephens & Green Rework)

06. Solar Movement - Pure Soul (Dark Mix)

07. Robert Nickson - Journey To The Deep 

08. Jamieson & Lamb - Frost 

09. Starpicker - The Traveller II 

10. Dan Stone - Novo 

11. New Ordinance - Beyond Gravity (Factor B Remix) 

12. James Kitcher & Adam Taylor - Utopia at Midnight 

13. Solarstone & Activa - Spirit 

14. Simon McLeod - Recall

15. Factoria - Enlivened Frequencies 

16. Sector7 & Niko Zografos - Efforia 

17. G&M Project - Sunday Afternoon (Jaron Inc. Remix - Activa Rework)  

18. Activa & Julie Thompson - When The Mask Falls 

More Information
Release Date Nov 29, 2019